top of page

Section 7: Exile and Return

The final chronological division of the prophets consists of those men who prophesied during the Exile and afterwards: Ezekiel, Daniel, Zechariah, Haggai, Malachi.  These prophets and leaders were active in the following time periods:

         605-530 BC -- Daniel
         593-571 BC -- Ezekiel
         520-480 BC -- Zechariah, Haggai 
         440-430 BC -- Malachi

In the Hebrew Bible, Ezekiel and the minor prophets are grouped in the Nevi'im (Prophets), but Daniel is part of the Ketuvim (Writings).    In this section, we will also include the book of  Esther, since the events it recounts pertain to the reign of King Xerxes of Persia in the early 5th C BC.  Esther is also part of the Ketuvim.

bottom of page